Treat Yo’self (And Do Good)

by snuggerson

It has been a bummer month. Between the tragedies in Boston and Texas, earthquake in China, factory collapse in Bangladesh, Congress’s gun control fail, escalations in Syria and a never-ending winter, I think we all deserve a break. Here are three things I did this week to treat myself while doing good for others at the same time (I encourage you to get in on this feel-good action!):

1. Dining Out For Life

Screen shot 2013-04-25 at 9.59.43 AM

TODAY! On April 25, more than 3,000 restaurants across the country are donating a portion of their profits (millions of dollars!) to AIDS service organizations. This is an event that I look forward to every year – dozens of restaurants in Minneapolis participate! Last year the hubs and I had a faaaabulous dinner at Lucia’s. This year, I’m taking it up a notch with a Patti Cake from Yum!, lunch at Good Earth and dinner/flights at The Sample Room. Chances are you will find one of your favorite restaurants on the list, so grab your friends, coworkers or a hot date and dine OUT today!

Screen shot 2013-04-25 at 1.41.14 PM

Screen shot 2013-04-25 at 1.42.08 PM

Screen shot 2013-04-26 at 8.51.01 AM

2. Aveda Earth Month

Screen shot 2013-04-25 at 9.15.07 AM

Aveda salons across the country are raising money for local clean water initiatives the entire month of April. This year, I did my part by getting my hair-did during the Aveda Cut-A-Thon on Earth Day. But there are tons of other ways to treat yourself and do good. Get on it!

Screen shot 2013-04-25 at 9.52.23 AM

3. Warby Parker

Screen shot 2013-04-25 at 9.29.47 AM

I’m trying hard to use all of my vacation and health benefits before we hit the road for Hawaii. This week, it’s time for an eye appointment. I must admit, the last time I ordered a batch of Warby Parker at-home try on glasses, every single pair looked ridiculous on me. This round worked out much better, and even if they are a little dorky, I can rest easy knowing that a pair went to someone in need. Is there anything more satisfying than one-for-one shopping?

Screen Shot 2013-04-26 at 6.12.10 PMI chose the Baxters in Catalina Blue (top, center). [Yes. I took 5 selfies, made a photo collage and posted it on the internet. Don’t. Judge me.]

#April25thRules

