Dove On Beauty (And Another Revelation)

by snuggerson

I work in advertising, and part of my job is to be on the lookout for new and innovative campaigns. Enter, Dove soap’s Real Beauty Sketches.

Screen shot 2013-04-18 at 9.19.56 AM

Dove’s Real Beauty campaign has been stellar from the get-go, but their most recent installment is simple and genius. In an empty, sun-drenched warehouse, an FBI-trained forensic sketch artist draws women – twice. First, from their own description, and second from the description of a stranger.

Screen shot 2013-04-18 at 9.09.07 AM

The results were unanimous. In every single case, the women’s self-described portraits were harsh, dark, and even sad. The stranger-described portraits were always more healthy and vibrant.

Screen shot 2013-04-18 at 9.02.55 AM

Screen shot 2013-04-18 at 8.56.39 AM

I encourage you to visit the Dove Real Beauty Sketches website (take 6 minutes and watch the full video) and share it with the women in your life. It’s always good to challenge our conventional notions of “beauty” and stir up a little self-love. It’s wonderful to see a company telling us, you are more beautiful than you think – as you are.  Not, our product will make you more beautiful. Kudos, Dove. Well done. Really.

Screen shot 2013-04-18 at 9.37.40 AM

This exhalation of self-love is speaking loud and clear to me as I think about our Hawaii move. Hubs has always been more excited about the opportunity than I have. And that makes sense. The path is clear for him – helping to build an already-celebrated restaurant from the ground up, working with local farmers who can grow special produce for your menu year-round – this is the stuff that chefs’ dreams are made of.

As a spouse and number-one-cheerleader, it’s fun for me to see him so, so excited about this new adventure. But it has also been a challenge for me to get on his level. A jungle bungalow in a small town on a remote island is not exactly dream living for someone who enjoys styling, current events and brunching with friends.

My aunt, who has followed her husband’s career across the country, offered me these words of wisdom: “You have to make it work for you, Sam. Don’t be a martyr. Find something about the move that fulfills you and cling to it.”

Of course, for her it was children, and we all know that that’s not going to happen for me (at least in the near future). So I’ve decided that the next few years (or however long this adventure turns out to be) is going to be all about self discovery.

I’m quitting my job. I’m finding out what truly makes me happy. I’m learning new skills. I’m getting healthy (not losing weight, but getting active and eating real food). I’m building up my relationship with my husband. I’m living for now. I’m going to be happy.

#Ready

