Proud Of The Bean

by snuggerson

Screen shot 2013-04-16 at 11.13.51 AM

Today is one of those days when words fail me.

Tracking down my friends who were running the marathon was easy. Tracking down spectators was more difficult. Slowly but surely I heard from all of my loved ones at the race, and I am lucky in a way that many were not – it was a stressful afternoon, but everyone’s safe.

My first Boston apartment is in the 15 blocks of quarantined crime scene. That Walgreen’s in all of the photos on the news was my Walgreen’s. I’ve been on that block on that day. I recognize all of it and none of it at the same time. The chaos in my old college neighborhood is unfamiliar. But the selfless acts of a strong community are not.

I’m proud that I recognize so many names on this Google doc. I’m proud of my old employer, Governor Deval Patrick. But most of all, I’m reassured that this tragedy will define Boston as a community that came together in a time of suffering.

#BostonStrong

